Crochet for Lefties


I am bad at craft and needlework. In the Philippines circa 1990s it was part of our Home Economics curriculum to sew and crochet. I dreaded it because I am a left handed person and I am no good on reading patterns. So to pass the project requirements, my mum who has basic knowledge, right handed superhero will make the stuff for me. Crochet a chain and few rows of stitches, sew a basic pattern blouse etc. The teacher, still accepted and passed me . My sewing improved and I can mend by hand running stitch and hem stitches but that is it. 

On the other hand, the other side of Home Econ which is cooking… I think I am quite good at it. Will post on cooking next time with pictures.

Crochet seems to be my fave past time now. I have been a youtube follower of good crochet how to vids and I am glad that technology had made me rekindle my interest on picking the yarn and trying out simple and useful projects out there.

My fave crafters out there:

1. Bella Coco http://www.bellacoco.co.uk/

2.the crochet crowd

3. Amigurumi to go by Sharon Ojala

http://www.bellacoco.co.uk/

4. studio crafti

5. Melanie Ham

6. You can signup for apps like loveknitting, pinterest, craftsy  and they do offer free tutorials and patterns too. 

They are my suggested vloggers and crafters . All easy to follow and what is best about youtube tutorials is that you can save, make a playlist, rewind, forward etc… also, if you read their sites, you can also download the patterns and save kn your file for future reference. I am a bit old school so i kinda jot down some of the basic terms. 

As for materials to use. Following the suggestions of the experts . I started with simple and inexpensive yarns. The dollar shop has 2.50dollars  acrylic wool and they work well with 4.5 sizes hook( ace 3.50-4.00dollars) . Also, get a knitting or yarn needle( 2.00 dollars) to sew in finished products. Later on you can add on pins, to help secure smaller parts of your project like a toy cuddly( amigurumi) buttons or safety eyes( i keep on forgetting to buy lol) , fiber fill( not necessary unless for amigurumi projects. 

So since I started crocheting in March 2017, here are some of the items I tried making and some have finished and some are still WIP .

1 granny square stitch blankie (wip)

I bought a double knit acrylic yarn and this is my second blanket project using granny square stitch.

2 round blanket my first finished project using rounds and rounds of double crocehet stitch. My LO loves to play with it.


3. Amigurumi toy – it is meant to be a bunny but this is my first attempt to try following  studio crafti’s video site. 


4. Applique – i want to try to create xmas tree decos using finer threads ( probly cotton … and finer crochet needles) so here’s a star


5. I have experimented a bit on tshirt yarn. It is a yarn made of old tshirts. They are a bit bulky and can be bought per kg. It uses a size 10 crochet needle. I bought the yarn from a shop called knotknitting based in West Australia. But I also found that my nearby craft shop Lincraft sells ot for 10 dollars a kg.

You may notice that my multicoloured yarn is prominent. Do not laugh, I overstocked . Hahaha. But that is why I am aiming to use it well on my next granny square stitched blanket and perhaps a mulit coloured amigurumi project. 

On my birthday last Aug 9. My order from iloveknitting came of cotton yarns. I am too busy and up to now I havent opened the parcel. Lol  

I am still a newbie to this craft and I just doing this as a hobby to remain sane  and relax my mind from the busy life as a SAHM. However, I recommend that you give it a try if you are interested. 

About ourlifeinsuitcases

a pre school teacher , wife and mum . former OFW . Being a stay at home after giving birth is a new opportunity to share my previous experiences, tie it with the present times and reflect on them .
This entry was posted in Newbie Blogger and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Crochet for Lefties

  1. spacekoto says:

    Belated happy birthday Rowan! Pag aaralan ko yan! Di ba nga gagawan kita ng kurtina hahaha! Ang galing nung amigurumi toy at lagayan ng remote control! Excited ako sa susunod na cooking blog mo… parang del monte kitchenomics ba yan?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tuwang tuwa ako kapag nakakakita ng mga ganyang crochet. Nagkaroon rin kami ng ganyang subject noon pero hirap na hirap ako. O baka talagang ang impatient ko lang nung mag panahong ‘yun. Hahaha. Belated happy birthday, Ate!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

