The Struggle is Real


Last June 15  we celebrated out first year of arrival in Australia. We arrived at Perth Airport via Qatar Airways and the time had just flew by up and now we are here in Newcastle.

To give you an ifea, we arrived here as Permanent Residents. It means, my DH and I took the steps of complying to the set of rules and requirements of the Australian Immigration. We had our English proficiency checked ( IELTS score band of 7.5) , our university credentials assessed, criminal recordbackground checked and health assessed too. It took us 2 years to get the visa as we had to add our LO on the list too. 

When we came here, we are very excited to experience on what Australian lifestyle is. It was a lovely start although we had to face the reality of looking and finding a place to rent, find a job , get the paperwork for government stuff etcetera. But what really hit us hard was the job hunt. I have seen how my DH struggled and also at times frustrated when he gets turned down by one company after the other. When we all had thought that before coming here, out professions have been recognised and suited for the local market. It was not that easy. Perhaps, we came at a wrong time? Due to the downturn of mining , and oil and gas. 

So 3 months have passed and finally a SME offered a job to DH in Central Coast. We moved to Gosford and we are still keeping the fight that we will thrive to the demands and expenses of everyday Australian life.  January 2017, my DH got another offer with a company here in Newcastle. It pays leass but it is a larger company that can help my DH learn more about the industry and better exposure to the so-called “Australian Experience”. 

As for me, I am carrying on my duties as a SAHM and had taken time to take my HLT004 Certificate ( first aide , anaphylaxis and asthma mgt) getting my driving lessons done( unfortunately 2 of my teachers have been in an accident so I am still waiting to get my test) I am also applying for jobs and volunteer positions.

Last week , I was called for an interview for a post in a Childcare. However, I just got a call today that I did not qualify. For reasons that I did not ask anymore. ( I had my qualifications assessed and granted by ACECQA, I have a First Aid Check, a Working with Children Check) so I am just saving myself for further heartbreak by not asking why I failed to get the job. I should be picking up myself and carry on and see what else I can do to hopefully snag the job. 

I will just tell myself that because my LO is still young, It will be better that I stay with her and just be a mum. However, I also hope that soon, I can also get a chance to work and help my husband to provide for our family. 

Right now, I am going to seek possibilities to improve myself to be better and have a higher chance to pass the interviews. Failing is never a good feeling but I will try not to dwell on that. It is time to move on. 

To make things a bit cheerful, I am thankful to Newcastle and Hunter Toy Library for allowing me to Volunteer 2 Saturdays a month. This makes me feel accomplished at least a couple of hours and also giving back to the community where we are at . 

About ourlifeinsuitcases

a pre school teacher , wife and mum . former OFW . Being a stay at home after giving birth is a new opportunity to share my previous experiences, tie it with the present times and reflect on them .
This entry was posted in Newbie Blogger and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Struggle is Real

  1. spacekoto says:

    Kawalan nila pag di ka nila ni-hire! 😁 May mas magandang opportunity pa dyan chura nila! hahahha! Naku gusto ko pa nman mag Aus. Nasa skill assessment stage pa lang ako. Kaloka struggle is real talaga sa IELTS kamote. Thank you for sharing this.. kailangan ko pala talaga mag handa ng madaming tibay ng dibdib😂

    Like

Leave a Reply

