The Hashtag

I am not going to wash my hands clean and say that I have never used this sign in some of my social media posts. However, I will be very honest to tell you that I have not really understood the concept of hashtagging. I merely just followed a trend because everybody in the damn social media world is doing it. 

And then, I have somehow gotten irritated by this trend. Why? It is because , some of the people I know, have just been hashtagging everything they do and post that most of the time it is either not making sense, super long and worse….spelled wrongly! 

Let me give you some examples of these categories:

1. OTT hashtagging- 

an ott hashtagger will do this:

#lighthouse #summer #newcastle #beach #summer #australia #rocks #scenery #weekend #water #sand #sun #bluesky #whiteclouds #beachlover #nofilter #randomwalks #amazing

…. ok what else ? The whole elements, particles that probably have been in the photo. Also let us not forget the overly used #blessed. πŸ˜‚

2. Loooong hashtags with CAPITAL LETTER mashups

It is long and makes me cringe . Let me make use of my LOs photo to illustrate it further

#mylittleartistinthemaking

#Iamgoingtobetheonecleaningupthismessafter

#IlovePINTERESTkiddoecraftideas

#creativitykickinginmybabygirl

…… i have seen others that are longer , it can be a paragraph 

3. spelling bee fails hashtag

Okay, the worst of them all is the hashtag with misspelled words. This is common on travel , food and leisure posts. Best advice to share to these peeps is that, research or doublecheck what you hashtag and post. 

#lavandar — 

#validictorian

#wronggrammer

#mindgrain

……. ok enough . that reached my tolerance level . πŸ˜†

About ourlifeinsuitcases

a pre school teacher , wife and mum . former OFW . Being a stay at home after giving birth is a new opportunity to share my previous experiences, tie it with the present times and reflect on them .
This entry was posted in Newbie Blogger and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

