Click Like and Other Social Media Nonsense

57760701

Don’t you just hate it when these kind of things flood yor newsfeed ? Unfortunately there are different versions of hoax news being posted on FB. From celebrities committing suicide, like and type something and see what happens, winning  an iPhone or iPad if you click like and share , and the latest this past few days….

“Better to be safe than sorry. An attorney advised us to post this. Good enough for me. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you do not publish a statement at least once, it will be tacitly understood that you are allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in your profile status updates. I HEREBY STATE THAT I DO NOT GIVE MY PERMISSION.
If you prefer, you can copy and paste.”

This reminds me of the pre-facebook era on my Yahoo email getting those weird email saying that I am the long lost kin of a super duper rich royalty and I am about to get 24,000,000,000,000 dollars . I just have to pay the attorney for processing the inheritance money transfer by providing my bank account details.  HAHAHA ! this and the miracle drug free trial that can make your private parts grow . ( What the hell??)

Seriously , what happened to people’s common sense? Yeah sure FB is a strong social media platform but it doesn’t mean that we should believe on whatever is being posted on it. Well some people would tell me that “there’s no harm on giving it a try” Fine. Your choice . but is that the smartest choice you can make?

My brother shared with me last week about a media campaign in one of the local channels in the Philippines “Think Before You Click” . I think that it is a good effort  to reach out to the people out there on being responsible users of social media. As social media users, let us not use it as a tool to channel and promote hate, or to turn us into gullible human beings. Check the facts first and that means READ the proper news sources or watch the local news. Read and understand  what is being posted and try to ponder if there is really a need to comment. And if you do, is it tactful and would make things better? If not, maybe just ignore and move on.

My tolerance to this kind of things flooding the newsfeed has gone low. It is worse than getting an invite to play Farmville or Candy Crush . If that person keeps on posting such nonsense, I would simply click unfollow . I had even reported a few people on FB regarding posts that I find inappropriate like violence and  nudity . ( yes there are some people think that a naked baby showering is good to post on fb . little they know that there are a lot of dark and twisted sickos out there who are preying and finding pleasure on this photos that  some think “cute” )

And as for this privacy hooha going on. A simple advice. To protect your privacy, set up a strong password and change it periodically. That’s it.

So i think if I see someone post that facebook privacy again.. I better call one person who can take care of this…. Mr. Bryan Mills o.. go get them .

Photo credit: google images

 

facebook-privacy-hoax-5

About ourlifeinsuitcases

a pre school teacher , wife and mum . former OFW . Being a stay at home after giving birth is a new opportunity to share my previous experiences, tie it with the present times and reflect on them .
This entry was posted in Newbie Blogger and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

